“We will run and not grow weary,

for our God will be our strength,

and we will fly like the eagle,

we will rise again.”

“We Will” lyrics taken from the book of Isaiah

I have always loved this scripture.   To me it is a whisper to keep going  no matter what the obstacles,  no matter how enervated I get.  This is not just a call for the weary, it might be for that tired moment in the day.  That moment when you question yourself and everything you are doing.

Running…that’s what I do the moment my feet hit the floor in the morning.  Actually, even before my feet hit the floor my mind is running.  The lists start flooding my mind. The challenges start creeping in at the corners.  And then I take a deep breath and pray.

Yeah. I pray about everything.  I can’t do this alone…be a wife, a mother, teacher, coach, encourager, motivator.  It is the answer to everything for me.  After the prayer is exhaled from my lips, I feel relief and comfort.  Sometimes I feel nothing after that prayer is whispered but it does not matter because I know it’s not in my hands.  It has been handed over to the one who has created me, the one who entrusted my husband and I with these five beautiful children and with all of life’s accomplishments and disappointments.

And I start to learn.  I learn that I can have joy in life’s triumphs and life’s challenges.  It is not easy on this earth but I think it was never meant to be.  Our experiences are what shape us and since we are all connected and we share this same existence, we are meant to in some way hold each other up.

It has taken me a bit to realize this because I am an introvert.  Funny, isn’t it?  I am on Twitter and Facebook, writing blogs for years and yet I draw strength from being alone.  Even more amazing is the life we somehow have chosen filled with people, with decibels turned up to ten, with constant motion.

I have been blessed to have met so many people along the way that for me they have been a beacon of hope.  They are a treasure.  They are joy.  And all these people have taught me a little bit more about myself.

Now as I reflect on the scripture the word we stands out. It is not I will run or I will fly or I will rise.  It is we.

We will run. We will fly. We will rise.

We are all the common denominator.

We makes up the best part of this life.  We means we are never alone. As John Donne so eloquently put:

“No man is an island entire of itself; every man 
is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; 
if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe 
is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as 
well as a manor of thy friends or of thine 
own were; any man’s death diminishes me, 
because I am involved in mankind. 
And therefore never send to know for whom 
the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.” 

 

